How to define signal processing and neural networks for audio recognition?

Hi,

First congratulations for your tutoriels : They are very clear.
Secondly the installation process/ connection to the Edge Impulse of the ST device is very intuitive.

I work on a project of “Smart trash”. My goal is to detect the nature of the object thrown (glass, metal, paper etc.) by its sound.
I envisage to use the Edge Impulse tool to record 50 sound samples with a duration of 1 second each including the sound of the object for each class. However i’m a beginner in signal processing and in deep learning.
By seeing the tutoriel /video called “recognize sounds from audio”, I understood that I had first to calculate the Mel-Frequency Cepstral Coefficients (MFCC).
My first question is : Is this methodology relevant for my use case ? If not can you advise a better method to perform what I want to do ?

My second question is : How to set the parameters in the Edge Impulse tool to determine the MFCC ?

My third question is : What could be a relevant and performant neural network architecture and the associated parameters of the neural networks for my use case ?

Thanks you for your listening,

Regards,

Lionel

1 Like

Hi @krukio, very interesting usecase! Yes, I’d follow the same steps as the ones in the “Recognize sounds from audio” tutorial. It will give you a pretty good idea whether the machine learning model works. The default parameters that are in the MFCC block should work well enough for your usecase and you can pair it with a small neural network like this:

I wouldn’t start to modify the parameters for either the MFCC block or the Neural Network just yet, add data (I think 50 sound samples is too low, but let’s try it out!) and retrain until you have >80% accuracy, then from there we can see if you need more data, parameter tweaking, or a slightly different neural network. And keep us posted!

1 Like

Hi Jan,

Thanks you for your answer and your advises !