Where is the dsp calculation in Python Linux SDK?

Question/Issue:
hello, I am a beginner and learning about voice/audio classification with Raspberry Pi. and I found the edge impulse python Linux SDK, I can run inference real time on the RPi board perfectly, thanks for dev team.
but I have concern, here is some of my questions:

1. where is the math operation for DSP and NN part, because I don’t find it in this file and in the library?
  2. what is the meaning value after result part?
    faucettt
  3. on edge impulse we can see information of performance on the device. but, how do we know the actual performance of the model we have created? in my case the deploy target is Raspberry Pi 4?

Regards,

Hello @des_16,

1. The operations are encapsulated in the linux executable (.eim). See Edge Impulse for Linux - Edge Impulse Documentation for more info (section .eim models?). The executable is compiled using our C++ Linux SDK.

2. (0 ms.) is the time to run the impulse, faucet 0.XX is the probably your model recognized this class, noise: 0.XX is the probably your model recognized this other class.

3. Are speaking about the RAM consumption / latency? The RAM you can see it on linux using a tool like top and the latency is given by the inference time ( 0 ms. here in your case, note that we round the results). But you can change the print statement on this line:

print('Result (%d ms.) ' % (res['timing']['dsp'] + res['timing']['classification']), end='')

Best,

Louis

hi @louis
thanks for response.

1. can we see the contents of the .eim file? I just want to know and learn how the realtime audio classification process from raw data/unknown sound to getting classification results.
    Sorry if I ask a lot of questions, I just want to know the math process behind it. Do you have any reference about it? Because I didn’t find math or equation about DSP in the documentation.