Wake word add silence requirement

Hi I am new to edge and am simply trying to build a wake word system.

I find one glaring problem with wake words even Ok Google.

If i say ok google as a request I pause before and after the request.
however if I tell someone “ok google is stupid” or “my wake word is ok google”
this will also fire the wake word.
I can see two ways to get around this
is to record lots of “is wakeword” “wakeword is” and similar terms then tag them as incorrect.
or
2 the easy way
have a requirement of not speech ie silence or background noise for a short prior and after the wake word.

would simply increasing the window size be the best way around the second approach.

Hi @greg_dickson how we do it is that we add some gating logic, e.g. look for a pattern like:

[ noise … wakeword … noise ]

Where the 2 noise classes need to be seen in the last 3 seconds or so.

Some example code is here: https://github.com/edgeimpulse/example-standalone-inferencing-c/blob/b175eead42ec7cdde89749360d2355903b277ac1/source/main.c#L288 (not for the faint of hearted :wink: ). @dansitu and team are working on something to better profile and configure this type of post-processing from the Studio.

Thanks Jan ( @janjongboom )
I’ll check it out.
As long as it’s not python I’m happy :astonished:

I guess this could be used to combine two wake words like Alexa and stop into
[noise…Alexa stop… noise] as well
to allow the wake word to be easily extendable to simple combinations.

Thanks for the link.
Greg

Hi @greg_dickson! This is definitely a tricky problem—there are tons of ways the wakeword could be interleaved with other audio, whether it’s background noise or other words by the same speaker. In addition to Jan’s suggestion, here are a couple of techniques used in production deployments: