Using Edge Impulse in teaching AI for university students?

Hi Edge Impulse!

I sent a mail with same subject as this post on May 3 (to your e-mail “hello [at] edgeimpulse [dot] com”) but haven’t gotten any response yet, perhaps it went into your spam folder?
Would appreciate a response, either as e-mail or to this post. If you prefer, I can also post more or less my whole e-mail here in the forum.

Thx!
Thomas Vikström

Hi @noone,

I replied to you email yesterday at 3:56 PM (Paris time), can you make sure the answer did not arrive in your spam?
In any cases, I copy the response here as it may interest some other teachers:

Hello!

I am also a teacher in a University in Lille, northern France called Junia. I teach Embedded Programming and IoT.

Since last year I’ve also been giving an Introduction to Embedded ML laboratory using Edge Impulse.

To answer your questions:

Question 1: Can I use Edge Impulse in an educational environment?

Of course, each students can have their own accounts and they can create 5 project each.

How many projects per students you had in mind?

Question 2: What edge devices do you recommend?

For additional hardware, the Arduino Nano 33 BLE (https://store.arduino.cc/arduino-nano-33-ble) is probably the easiest one to use and comes with an accelerometer and a microphone. And of course you can plug the classic Arduino compatible sensors.

In my case, I have been using for my Embedded Programming classes the ESP8266 and ESP32-Cam but they are not officially supported by Edge Impulse yet (although it works using the compiled C++ library but they have limited resources).

Question 3: Any other recommendations?

Do you know if Edge Impulse has been used in education before? Any recommendations or pointers you can give?