Unexpectedly high RAM usage of model

Hello.

I’m a novice in ML field and particulary in Edge Impulse so my question may seem stupid, sorry. I tried to find related topics here but looks like I’m the only who faced such problem.
I have successfully built the model for the custom type of sensors. Reported memory estimation is pretty good for me, however when I deloyed model on the real HW I found out that the real RAM usage is much bigger than expected. Below the details.

Expected memory usage as follow:

Attempting to run the model by run_classifier() function invocation fails with an error:
ERR: Failed to run DSP process (-1002)
run_classifier returned: -5

I dig deeper and found that error relates to insufficient memory, so I set beakpoint on memory allocation function call:

__attribute__((weak)) void *ei_calloc(size_t nitems, size_t size) {
	/* ei_printf("Callocing-ing %u\n", nitems * size); */
    return calloc(nitems, size);
}

Appeared that classifier two times tries to allocate 19864 bytes of memory which is too much, I don’t have enough RAM in system (nRF52832 SoC with BLE enabled).
Can anyone explain why this happened and what I did wrong? Any help is appreciated!

Another one question is about memory optimization. According to the picture above model is optimized for using int8 data type, however I did not found where I can provide data in int8 or int16. Standard callback which fetches data from user buffer accepts only float32, so I have to cast int16 to float32 which definetely affects memory footprint,

Thanks!

Hi @Dmitriy_L

Welcome to the forum,

You can try running the eon compiler to reduce the footprint further:

Best

Eoin

Hello @Dmitriy_L ,

I just checked the RAM available on that SoC: nRF52832 - Versatile Bluetooth 5.2 SoC - nordicsemi.com
It seems that it has only 32/64kB available. If you enable the BLE, I suspect that you don’t have much left for your ML application.

Best,

Louis

Hi Eoin,