Recognition of shooting event

Project ID: 191005

Background:
I am very new at machine learning and I am trying to explore a method to detect the position of poachers at a friend place by analyzing audio signals from the shots, so I would kindly ask some general input from the community.

The scope of the ML algorythm is to detect/recognise 2 types of very short events among the background noise in continuos inference mode:

• Bullet shockwave signal
  • Muzzle blast signal

Trilateration/triangulation methods are out of scope of this thread.

The waves should look like Figures 5 and 6 according to the the paper Shooter localization and weapon classification with soldier-wearable networked sensors:

Citing the paper:

The most conspicuous characteristics of an acoustic shockwave…are the steep rising edges at the beginning and end of the signal. Also, the length of the N-wave is fairly predictable…and is relatively short (200-300 μs).

In contrast to shockwaves, the muzzle blast signatures are characterized by a long initial period (1-5 ms) where the first half period is significantly shorter than the second half [4].
…the real challenge for the matching detection core is to identify the first and second half periods properly.

And indeed this is how (more or less) the waves look like in my data:

If bullet is subsonic there will be no shockwave, only muzzle blast:

Viceversa, if the gun is silenced, there will be shockwave, but no muzzle blast (notice the horizontal lines, is the “bzzz” from the bullet when already at subsonic):

Unfortunately if a silenced gun is used along with subsonic ammunition, not much will be picked up.
Luckily poachers usually use homemade silencers on long rifles (so some muzzle blast will be heard) and they use supersonic ammunition, so a bullet shockwave should be heard.

What is important for me is the accuracy of the timestamp of the event and not so much how long the algorythm takes to recognize the event.