Mixing target sounds with background relative volume

Hi, working on a project to detect a sound versus background. Based on some videos and suggestions here I have heard that it’s good to normalize the sound, meaning bring all samples to similar average volumes. Then to mix background into the signal files for better inferencing in real world situations.

So, taking the latter topic first, I would assume we don’t want to mix background into the target sounds at the same volume, it is afterall intended to be background. What’s a reasonable volume ratio here?

Then, I was wondering about a preprocessing short cut: I have some longish target and background sounds. If I split them into ~3 second segments, then I can measure the average volume of each small file. Then, rather than normalizing the sounds, and then mixing them in some recommended volume ratio, I could simply select a subset of sounds that are already at the recommended volume ratio and just mix them.

At this point, I have thousands of little files, but it’s not likely Edge Impulse will allow building a model from all of them - So if the recommended mix volume ratio is, say, 70/30, I could just conveniently choose a set of target sounds with mean volume of ~3db louder (approx double volume) than the mean background volume right?

Hope this makes sense!

Hi @braddo,

If it helps, I have a mixing script that does what you are looking for here: https://github.com/ShawnHymel/ei-keyword-spotting/blob/master/ei-audio-dataset-curation.ipynb. It does background audio file sampling/mixing, but no normalization. Keep in mind that if you normalize during training, you will likely need to normalize during inference.

I do a 90/10% volume for sound/background. Feel free to play with that. I doubt Edge Impulse will implement such a feature, but it’s a good suggestion. For now, I recommend doing your mixing via a script to generate new data.