Low Accuracy with Three Labels in Object Detection

Question/Issue: I’m following the steps in the Edge Impulse project example " Automated Inventory Management with Computer Vision" .

Instead of two objects, I’m trying to use object detection for three different products. I uploaded about 60 images that include a variation of the three labels I want to detect. In total, there are about 40 images for each label. When I train the model, I’m getting a very bad accuracy (40%). When I remove one of the labels, the accuracy raises to 80%. I’m using FOMO and the images are reduced in size to 96X96.

Any suggestions on what can be done to increase the accuracy?

I’m still learning and any hint would be really appreciated.

Project ID: Nur Siyam/Inventory v1

Context/Use case: I’m trying to create an inventory management system similar to this one: Automated Inventory Management with Computer Vision - Expert Projects

What does your Feature Explorer look like? Can you easily distinguish the Classes? If not then the ML Model will also have trouble (no magic here).

For example, the following image shows a FOMO model trained on images that have the numerals 0 to 9 within them. The Classes in the cyan colored circle are Classes {1,7,9}. Depending on how you write them and how legible your hand writing is these can all look similar. The Feature Explorer is grouping them together and is indicating they are the same object. One solution is to add more training data.

The following image shows have FOMO is easily seperating 2 different Classes:

Thanks for the reply. I trained the model again and, surprisingly, I got 76% accuracy. This is not what I’m aiming for, but at least it is not 40% like before. The strange thing is that I did not change anything, I just trained the model again. It seems the issue is with the pasta, as the model is classifying it as background (85.7% of the time), which is decreasing the accuracy.