Is it possible to recognize a guitar note using its frequency?

Hello !
We’re french students in high school, and we’re trying to make an automatic guitar tuner for our engeneering project, and we would like to know if it was possible to do so with EdgeImpulse. We’re complete beginners in this domain, and would appreciate some help ^^’.
What we’re looking for is a way to recognize (or isolate) the frequency of a guitar recording, so we can recognize the note that is played in the recording. If the detected frequency don’t match or is in between different notes, we’ll need to know the frequency gap between the recording and the closest note, so the motor attached to the tuner can precisely tighten or loosen the key.
So if you know a way to do this, or have any advices to help us, we would appreciate it. And if we weren’t clear enough, feel free to ask us any questions :wink:

Thank you for your time !

Hi @PinguBoi If you record two different notes, then use a spectrogram processing block can you see the difference? Distinct frequencies? If so, then train using that, or even bypass ML all together and just analyze the spectrogram in code.

1 Like

FYI, here’s a quick test using a piano:

C

F

There’s definitely something there:

Note that this is trained on 20 seconds of data (10 each), so don’t take it for granted :wink:

2 Likes

Hi, thank you for your help ! We’ll test this method in class with the guitar we have and we’ll let you know if it worked :slight_smile:

@PinguBoi

Is this what you looking for?

Automated Guitar Transcription with Deep Learning

Using Constant-Q Transform.

Maybe also useful?
GuitarSet
https://github.com/marl/GuitarSet

I think it might be what we need ! I didn’t know it was possible to create images based on audio files, but this method could be what we’re looking for. I’ll let you know as fast as possible !

Thank you so much for your help !

Hi @PinguBoi