How inference time is related to model size?

Hi,

I’m training a image classification model on custom dataset. I ran EON tuner for getting different models. That’s when I saw this.

As you can see, both the models are of input size 32X32 and RGB.

The model on the left has only 2 conv layers which shows inferencing time of 58ms.
But the model on the right has 3 conv layers and a dense layer which shows inferencing time of 30ms.

The model with less layers should be faster right? Why is this different? Am I missing something?

I’m new to ML. So please enlighten my knowledge.

Thanks,
Ramson Jehu K

Hello @Ramson,

Can you tell me which project you are using so I can have a look? Or what’s the device you’ve selected for the latency in the EON Tuner?

Regards,

Louis

Hi Louis,

Here is my public project ID: 74860
I have selected Cortex-M7 216Mhz device.

Thanks,
Ramson Jehu K

Hi @Ramson, here’s the Netron output of these two models:

I guess that because of the extra convolutional layers the fully-connected layer is quicker to be calculated. If I look at the estimated MACCs it’s ~800K for the model with 3 layers, and ~1.6M for the model with two layers. A bit counterintuitive indeed :slight_smile:

@dansitu might have something to add here too.

Hi @janjongboom,

Thanks for the intuition, how did you estimated the MACCs?

Regards,
Ramson Jehu K

@Ramson I think we’re using something based off of https://machinethink.net/blog/how-fast-is-my-model/

Note that we’re switching to benchmarking the actual model, but this is not implemented for the Cortex-M7 216MHz target yet so it falls back to MACC calculation.

@janjongboom, thanks for the referring the blog. Do you have any script or something to check MACC calculation for various model or is it just manual calculation?

What do you mean by benchmarking the actual model? how would it differ from MACC calculation?