"Host requires authentication" Error with Ingestion SDK

I’m testing around with the ingestion sdk and I keep getting a return response as seen in the title. I’m using the examples in the docs for signing and creating a basic file called test/encoded.cbor.

I’m assuming I’m just overlooking something in terms of this hmac key or something. I’m using the same API KEY I would use when connecting using the remote mgmt protocol.

Could someone give me a few pointers or places to look in order to resolve this “Host requires authentication,” error? I’m new to all of this cryptographic/context/singing stuff and I’m still trying to wrap my head around all of this.

Also note, I do have all of the necessary library and SDK’s included such as MBEDTLS and QCbor, etc.

Update:

It seems as though the signature being written to the encoded.cbor file is still the uninitialized 64 times 0.

I must be missing where to change this, I assumed from the example that the updating of the signature was done through the functionality already present.

I’ve found

int ctx_err = ctx->signature_ctx->init(ctx->signature_ctx);

In the source, so I assume I’m missing a step. Will keep digging.

@DoitfortheLulz When do you get this message? When sending data to ingestion or? If the HMAC key misses I’d expect a different error (and it will just pass through anyway, just marked as not signed in the studio).

So, initially, I was getting Internal server errors and then eventually a:

• 400 - Invalid message, e.g. fields are missing, or are invalid. See body for more information.

But these were resolved, just user errors when formatting my headers, etc.

I get this message after the message has been sent. Its the returned response from the API after POSTING

This will probably be a stupid question, but do I pass in any hmac key, something I create myself? Or is there some functionality I’m overlooking to generate one?