Help! Microphone sensitivity on Nano 33 BLE Sense

Hi,

I am doing audio recognition project and I collect the audio samples for Training and Testing stage which shows good percentage result for both stages. When i played back the audio samples, the voice can be heard loudly, which i understand that the IC can capture my voice even when i stood at 5m from the IC.

For the setting in the Impulse Design section (Create impulse, MFCC and NN classifier), i just follow all the default and suggested setting.

But when the code generated and i upload the code into the processor of the Nano 33 BLE Sense and do the offline audio recognition testing, the accuracy results are bad, which are mostly reach only around 0.332.

Does the issue actually related to the sensitivity of the Nano 33 BLE Sense IC?

I had try to change the PDM.setGain value from 127 to 255 in the code as suggested in a website, but it doesnt work.

I am new in using this IC and also writing code. I need your advices regarding on how and where i need to do the modification in the code or in the Edge Impulse setting so that i can achieve high accuracy at least 0.80.

Your opinion and advice regarding this issue is highly appreciated.

Thank you, have a nice day.

Hi @asmayusof,

Can you share your project ID? I’d like to take a look at the data you collected and see if I can replicate the issue on my Nano 33 BLE Sense.

Hi @shawn_edgeimpulse ,

Thank you for your response.

The project ID is 109691.
For the data samples, I collected for the duration of 1s but there are some of the sample data collected are consist more than 1s because the samples consist of 2 words. That is why i set the window size is 1100ms and window increase is 550ms.

Hi @asmayusof,

I tried your project with some success. It heard me say “stop” and “turn left,” but it missed me saying “start.” There were also some false negatives (“forward” and a second “stop.”).