FireGuard: running two impulses on a Arduino PortentaH7

Hello everyone!
I’m a fresh Informatics Engineering graduate and a couple of months ago i started working on my thesis project which involved the creation of a device capable of recognizing and signaling the presence of nearby forest fires.
The initial goal was to recognize a nearby fire from audio data, so I built an audio dataset by collecting over 2800 signals lasting 5 seconds. I used EdgeImpulse to create a CNN that classified the samples, defining two classes: “Fire” and “Not-Fire”. The model worked fairly well in recognizing fire from audio data and i was still having time available for the writing of the thesis, so i was given the opportunity to work with an Arduino Portenta H7. Since the device has two cores I thought it would be interesting to try to run two neural networks on the same device: one for analyzing audio data, the other for image processing.
Together with the Arduino Portenta H7 I had the Portenta vision shield (LoRaWAN) available, which interfaces two microphones, a camera, an SD reader and a LoRaWAN module to the device. I built a dataset containing about 5000 images, and again i used EdgeImpulse to generate the CNN (MobileNet) that did the recognition. The challenge now was to be able to run the models on two different cores, making them communicate simultaneously.
I decided to load the audio recognition model into CoreM4 and the video recognition model into CoreM7. Initially the audio model produced memory errors which I was able to solve thanks to this community help. Another problem I encountered was making the two cores communicate: the RCP library for serial communication between the cores was giving compilation errors, I solved this by writing/reading the digital PINs of the device.
Subsequently I designed a test to be performed directly from the device, I won’t go into details, but the tests have produced encouraging results, and seeing the project work has really satisfied me.