Esp32 cam object detection to gpio high help

Hi again! I would like help in how to best learn how to do the following:

I want to train a esp32 cam (that I flashed with edge impulse fw) to recognise an object. When the object is recognized I want the esp32 to make a GPIO pin HIGH and send a signal to another board that plays audio (this board can be triggered with a pulse from a microcontroller). I think I know how to train the actual model (tried before with a raspberry pi, so im comfortable with the edge impulse studio). My question is:

How and where do I write the code so that I can make the board send a digital high on a gpio output pin when the model inferes that my trained object is in the image?

I am a coding beginner, so any tips on how I can learn to do this is appreciated a lot. It is for a design school project (I am a design student, but we mostly work with traditional materials and techniques so I can not ask school teachers for help on this). I only know a little bit of basic python and micropython, so I would very much be happy if someone could explain in beginners terms how to code this so it works with the edge impulse fw and ML model.

Thanks,
Jonas

Hello @Instant_exit,

You might want to have a look at this thread:

The concept is basically the same, instead of an LED, just add whatever GPIO you want.

Best,

Louis

1 Like

Ok, thank you Louis! I think I understand the concept. But how do I adapt this to work on object detection using the camera? (With FOMO?)

Also: If using the edge impulse firmware for esp32, can I still use .ino files? (programming the esp32 cam with the arduino ide) Or should I use stock esp32 cam fw and connect esp32 with arduino ide? (I believe you wrote a tutorial on this earlier, but I dont know if its still relevant since you added support and custom fw for esp32 boards).