Difficulty in understanding the CNN architecture

Hello… I’m a beginner to machine learning and trying to implement a model from a paper…
I’m developing a keyword spotting application and following is the architecture i want to implement.

The architecture should contain the

1. Conv layer with 64 feature maps and 1 into 3 pooling size
  2. Conv layer with 64 feature maps and 1 into 1 pooling size
  3. Linear layer with 32 feature maps
  4. DNN with 128 feature maps
  5. Softmax with 4 feature maps

I’m assuming, the feature maps and number of neurons would be the same value in Edge Impulse?
Also how to set the pooling size?
What is DNN In edge impulse? I’m assuming the dense layer is the linear layer?
And how can weight matrix (m into r) be perceived from edge Impulse ?

Sorry for these basic questions but it would really help if i get answers to these…
Thanks in advance

Hi @rida,

In Edge Impulse, the number of “filters” in a convolutional layer is the number of neurons, which is also equal to the number of feature maps that are output from that layer.

The pooling size is set to 2 by default. You have to go into Expert Mode to change the pooling size.

Yes, DNN stands for “dense neural network.” I’m not sure what you mean by “linear layer,” as most dense layers have non-linear activations (e.g. ReLU or Softmax if it’s the final layer of a classification model).

I’m not sure what you mean by “weight matrix (m into r).” Could you provide an example of this?

Hope that helps!

2 Likes

Also, for keyword spotting with CNNs, I might recommend checking out the videos in the course here: https://www.coursera.org/learn/introduction-to-embedded-machine-learning. It’s free to take the course (Coursera will pester you to pay for a certificate, but it’s not necessary). We briefly cover DNNs, CNNs, and how to make a keyword spotting system in the final week.

The link of the paper is here…