Classification of beehive sounds to predict swarming & queen loss (Apidictor)

Hi all,

I am a new user, I have limited experience with Arduino programming so struggling to start on this project, any guidance or advice would be greatly appreciated by myself and my bees.

I have a beehive that is monitored by an ESP32, it has an I2S microphone inserted into the beehive so can pick up sounds fairly well. This website hs a large number of wav files of beehives in different states.

I’ve attempted to classify some sounds (437848) by uploading 6 wav files but the model fails to classify. I think it’s trying to pick out features to compare but it’s the overall amplitude\frequency that’s different I think.

The recordings also come with .lab text files which contain the start\stop points of segments containing only bee sounds - Is there any way to make use of this?

By marking these pairs of moments corresponding to the beginning and end of external sound periods, we are able to get the whole recording labeled into Bee and noBee intervals. Thus in the resulting Bee intervals only pure beehive sounds, (no external sounds) should be perceived for the entirety of the segment.
The noBee intervals refer to periods where an external sound can be perceived (superimposed to the bee sounds)"

The sound files are classified as “No queen bee”, “Queen bee present”, “Pipping” and “Swarming”

One sound that caught his attention was a sort of warbling noise that varied between the notes A and C sharp; that’s 225 - 285 Hz in terms of frequency. He noticed that this sound got steadily louder, then it stopped and a day or so later a swarm took off.

Here is the sound of a queen bee piping:

Queen piping is an acoustic signal emitted by a young queen during the process of swarming (fundamental frequency of 330-430 Hz).

Has anyone done anything like this that could help?

Hi @madlan,