Baby Cry Audio Data Strategy Guidance

Hello Community,

I’m trying to classify baby cry audio aka what is the reason for crying.
The project can be found here: cry_classifciation_with_only_donateacry_community_ver
I found an open dataset of labelled baby cries that I’m using.
The goal is to later use Arduino Nano BLE 33 sense to detect reason’s for when a baby is crying. I also added some ambient sound collected through the Nano and the data forwarder.

I first want to see, how this dataset can be used increase accuracy while classifying in Edge impulse training mode. Later on the idea is to

I am not an ML engineer, so I’m trying out various combinations.
In the impulse design I have set the window size to be 3 secs as the wave files are 7 secs long.
In the impulse design I’ve used an MFE block.
And, also used a classifier block.

MFE Block parameters are as below that I used to generate features:
Mel-filterbank energy features
Frame length: 0.02
Frame stride: 0.01
Filter number: 40
FFT length: 256
Low frequency: 80
High frequency: 0
Normalization
Noise floor (dB): -78

The features are not very unique as you can see below (Baby cries are almost all the same and the dataset is not a compete, I guess no dataset is complete, but I’m lucky that it exists):

After few trial and error, with a training cycle of 400 and learning rate of 0.0005, with some added noise through data augmentation (enabled), and a 1D conv NN (Default one) I was able to achieve an accuracy of: 50-55% approximately with a loss of 0.6-1.2.

Before I move ahead, I wanted to ask the experts, if some one has expertise with these kind of audio data and has some ideas on how to increase the accuracy, essentially improving training strategy.
All help is sincerely appreciated.

1 Like

Hi @dattasaurabh82

@davidtischler_edgeim maybe you have seen some projects like this and can offer some advice?